## **OFFICERS 2006-2008**

STEVE WEIR PRESIDENT Contra Costa County 524 Main Street Martinez, CA 94553 (925) 646-2955 sweir@cr.cccounty.us

REBECCA MARTINEZ VICE PRESIDENT Madera County

MIKEL HAAS TREASURER San Diego County

GAIL PELLERIN SECRETARY Santa Cruz County

## BOARD OF DIRECTORS APPOINTED:

JANICE ATKINSON Sonoma County DARLENE BLOÓM Orange County CATHY DARLING Shasta County CANDACE GRUBBS **Butte County** JOSEPH HOLLAND Santa Barbara County **DEAN LOGAN** Los Angeles County JOHN MCKIBBEN Los Angeles County KATHIE MORAN Colusa County DOLORES PROVENCIO Imperial County ELMA ROSAS Santa Clara County **KAY VINSON\*** City Clerk, Murrieta \* non-voting member ELECTED: JULIE BUSTAMANTE Northern Area Lassen County BARBARA DUNMORE Southern Area **Riverside County** CANDY LOPEZ Bay Area Contra Costa County

LEE LUNDRIGAN Central Area Stanislaus County JIM MCCAULEY Mother Lode Area Placer County

ADVISORY COUNCIL

CONNY MCCORMACK Los Angeles County MARSHA WHARFF Mendocino County

## LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES

CLERK OF THE BOARD: SACHI A. HAMAI Los Angeles County

COUNTY CLERK: KATHIE MORAN Colusa County

VICKI PETERSEN Sonoma County

ELECTIONS:

JILL LAVINE Sacramento County DEBORAH SEILER Solano County



## CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

March 24, 2008

Senator Jenny Oropeza State Capitol, Room 4074 Sacramento, CA 95814

Re: SB 1235

Dear Senator Oropeza:

The Elections Legislative Committee of the California Association of Clerks and Election Officials reviewed **SB 1235** (as introduced February 14, 2008), your proposed legislation requiring Election Officials to post a notice at a previously designated polling place when the polling location has been changed after notification has been sent to voters.

The committee voted to **Support** your proposal. Many counties are already following this practice, and those counties that did not currently do so, felt it would not be a significant issue to post the notice in addition to sending notification to the voters.

Should you have any questions in this regard, please do not hesitate to contact me at the Sonoma County Clerk-Recorder-Assessor's Office, (707) 565-1877.

Very truly yours,

Janice Atkinson, Correspondence Secretary Elections Legislative Committee California Association of Clerks and Election Officials

c: Senator Ron Calderon, Chair, Elections, Reapportionment and Constitutional Amendments Committee Deborah Seiler, Co-Chair, CACEO Elections Legislative Committee Jill Lavine, Co-Chair, CACEO Elections Legislative Committee Barry Brokaw and Donne Brownsey, Sacramento Advocates, Inc.